Looks like Georgie

First post in a while, I’m sorry but life has been busy and crazy! I have no time to…Okay I’m lying. I’ve been visiting my friends in Georgia for the past week and do nothing but sit at the pool and read yoga books and drink wine. I do practice yoga in the mornings, more so than usual because my hip flexor has been feeling really ouchie. I guess I overdid it with the whole running every single day of summer thing.

I saw the area in Savannah that I’ll be living and it’s gorgeous. The yoga studio is in the Victorian District, right next to Forsyth Park, so I’m looking for a loft as close to the studio as possible. It’s starting to sink in, the fact that I’m really moving across the country (again), really getting this certification, really going for it. Taking a leap of faith never felt so good. The decision is becoming less scary-looking and more Georgie-looking. At first, this whole thing didn’t seem like something I would do. Move across the country? For a guy? I’m not going to lie-the feminist in me almost didn’t allow any of this to happen. But then, I had my “I’m not being a feminist, I’m being a stubborn bitch and I’m keeping myself from being happy for the sake of being a feminist” moment (I think all feminists have this at some point) and I realized that it’s okay to do something for a guy. If you aren’t giving up any part of yourself and if it makes you happy, that’s a good thing. And now, I’m starting to really feel like Georgie. This decision looks like Georgie. I feel brave and strong and spontaneous. I haven’t felt like myself since I got back from the road trip, so I’m assuming that this is a very good sign.

I will leave you with a poem that I read often, when I need guidance, a smile, or something to keep me from getting angry at dumbasses. But I always (for the past ten years or so) read this on my birthday. And since today is my 22nd, I thought I would share it with all of you. Enjoy and have a great day my friends.

Desiderata

Go placidly amid the noise and the haste,
and remember what peace there may be in silence.

As far as possible, without surrender,
be on good terms with all persons.
Speak your truth quietly and clearly;
and listen to others,
even to the dull and the ignorant;
they too have their story.
Avoid loud and aggressive persons;
they are vexatious to the spirit.

If you compare yourself with others,
you may become vain or bitter,
for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself.
Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.
Keep interested in your own career, however humble;
it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.

Exercise caution in your business affairs,
for the world is full of trickery.
But let this not blind you to what virtue there is;
many persons strive for high ideals,
and everywhere life is full of heroism.
Be yourself. Especially do not feign affection.
Neither be cynical about love,
for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment,
it is as perennial as the grass.

Take kindly the counsel of the years,
gracefully surrendering the things of youth.
Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune.
But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings.
Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness.

Beyond a wholesome discipline,
be gentle with yourself.
You are a child of the universe
no less than the trees and the stars;
you have a right to be here.
And whether or not it is clear to you,
no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore be at peace with God,
whatever you conceive Him to be.
And whatever your labors and aspirations,
in the noisy confusion of life,
keep peace in your soul.

With all its sham, drudgery, and broken dreams,
it is still a beautiful world.
Be cheerful. Strive to be happy.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bridget
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 09:43:47

    Although I spend my days writing and reading up on fashion and trends, I absolutely love your blog. I can relate yet also hear (er..read) another viewpoint. I loved your “Yoga Problem,” post and again, although my interest is fashion, I encounter the same types. “Oh, you’re into…clothes? That’s…nice.”

    Also, your blog reads very much like a little comical memoir I read once on a long overseas flight titled, “Queen of The Road.” Best of luck to you in Savannah and with your certification, you were the best Zumba instructor (Callan and I still rave about your class) so I can only imagine the enthusiasm you’ll bring to your yoga classes! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Nora
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 12:14:01

    Hi Georgie. Love it that the stubborn bitch won this argument.

    Tell the guy you moved across country for that his Grandfather Gaskin had a framed copy of Desiderata hanging in his study and it was read at his memorial service. Alex was there, but much too young to remember. Anyway, I’m partial to Gaskin men myself! And I love Desiderata.

    Cheers, Aunt Noro

    Reply

Leave a Reply

