The Stoked Life

I suggest you watch this hilarious video before you read (thank you to the person that posted this facebook, I don’t remember who it was):

My day/week/year/whole life was made on Monday, as I sat at a desk in the middle of an empty building. Construction workers lined the walls, installing lights, drilling, welding, hammering.

I got hired (haven’t been able to say that phrase in a while) at this soon-to-be fitness facility. Can you even guess what they want me to do there? Can you even imagine what they want me to teach?

THEY WANT ME TO TEACH YOGA.

I am, without a doubt, the happiest girl this side of the Mississippi.

This is it! This is my thing, what I dream about, how I want to fill my days, the way I want to make a difference, this is what my heart desires.

This is the beginning of everything.

I had a really hard time falling asleep last night. Not because I was troubled or brooding over something–it was because I couldn’t stop thinking about yoga. I was mentally planning out asana sequences, thinking of things to say to my future participants, going over the names of different muscles, trying to remember the names of poses, repeating phrases from the Yoga Sutras.

I am so stoked on yoga.

Not being able to fall asleep because I’m so passionate about something happens with more than just yoga. It happens with climbing even more frequently than yoga. It happens with running, writing, my family, Alex, and my friends. I’ll start thinking about that certain thing and then go into a mental vortex of loving it, smiling about it, being so freakin’ amazed at how awesome it is, loving it some more, and getting super happy that it’s in my life.

A few years ago I was in a coffee shop sitting by myself and I started day dreaming about climbing. I thought about this gorgeous slab of granite tucked away in a forrest of redwood trees. I started climbing, doing moves that were far too hard for me in waking life, breathing in cool, smooth air, sweating, moving, getting further away from the ground, sticking every move, solid…

And then, someone I didn’t know put their hand on my shoulder.

“Excuse me, but I just have to know why you’re smiling so big,” he said. He was smiling too.

I was pretty shaken up, like that feeling when you’re staring off into space and someone waves their hand in front of your face. I laughed and told him that I was thinking about rock climbing. He laughed, wished me luck in all I do, and apologized for interrupting.

I daydream all of the time. The yoga philosophy kind of frowns upon this, because when you’re daydreaming you aren’t fully aware of your existence, your mind is on auto-pilot. But I don’t care. I like daydreaming and it makes me feel good. It gets me stoked.

Think about something you really love. How much do you love it? Does it consume your thoughts, is it something you do every day, has it become so much of the person you are, do you constantly talk about it? Get obsessed with it. Dive deeper, be passionate. Live for that thing.

This small shift in attitude will change your life. You will feel like everything always goes your way, you will feel like one of the lucky ones. You will be excited to be alive, thankful for the awesomeness that life truly is.

If you practice getting stoked, you will find yourself getting stoked even when you’re bummed out. I had a hard time falling asleep last night because I was so excited about yoga, even though I’ve been going through some not-so-fun times recently (ah, so that’s where that last blog post came from).

The stoked life is much better than the not giving a shit life. It doesn’t matter what you’re passionate about–a sport, your family, a hobby, a band, your best friend, or some rad-ass hoodie–love it all. Get pumped. Get excited. Rock the fuck out.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz Fichera
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 11:44:41

    Oh, that video is hilarious! Love the tongue-in-cheek!

    So glad you’ve joined the First Gifts Blog Hop this weekend! I look forward to reading your story. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Nora Esthimer
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 17:49:06

    Love the blog entry–but since I’ve just come from yoga class, I have to ask, isn’t there a bit of a conflict between being stoked and being yogic? Just a thought. Namaste.

    Reply

  3. Megan
    Dec 06, 2010 @ 15:25:01

    Oh my god! I’ve seen that before its from the Onion! Hahaha…dude, dude…try these nachos!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

