Falling in love with yoga, again.

It happened like this:

I was warming up, doing very gentle yoga, trying to fill up with breath and drop my consciousness down into my body. I was planning to do a sweaty, core-intensive, arm balancing and hip opening kind of practice–I needed to let go and push my limits and detox. But the universe had other plans that day.

It was one of the sharpest pains I had ever consciously felt, it started in one poignant spot and eventually fanned out in a few different directions. My entire body contracted, especially my core, and for a few seconds I was paralyzed with pain. When what had happened actually registered, I started crying automatically, not because it hurt, but because I, a person who practices yoga almost every day, knew what had just happened.

I frickin’ pulled something.

That something I later realized was levator scapulae, a muscle in the back of the neck.

The tears stopped as quickly as they started. Then, anger. Swearing. FuckWHYthefuckdidthishappentomeWHYfuckfuckfuckshitWHYthisfuckingsucksWHYthisdidnotjustfuckinghappen. Or something like that. Panic. NO. WHY. WHY NOW. WHY EVER. WHY ME.

Fuck.

I wish I could say it happened when I was doing some awesome arm balance or coming down from a handstand into chatturanga or dropping back into a backbend.

But no. A few days ago, I got injured doing frickin’ cat/cow. That’s just how injuries go, they usually don’t happen in a way that seems “worth it”.

I just reread my last post about stress, and now it feels like I should have seen an injury coming. Neck and back muscles are the ones that tighten up the most from stress, at least that’s how it is for my body. Actually, it may seem weird, but in the moments right before the muscle was pulled, I remember my internal dialogue going something like, my neck feels weird today, what if when I move my head again I pull something…and then right there, it happened. Many people experience this same thing right before an injury happens.

This was the first time I’ve gotten hurt in a while where I’ve actually been conscious of it. Sounds weird, but it’s true. Climbing has taught me to how to mentally block out pain, and I’ve gotten pretty damn good at it. As one could imagine, climbing hurts. Holding on to tiny features in the rock is painful, and this is something I forget all of the time because I’m so used to it. Even the smallest, razor-like indentations in the rock don’t hurt for me to cling on to. In fact, I prefer sharper, grittier holds to smooth ones because they bite back at me. I don’t have to hold on as tight because, well, the rock is holding on to me.

It isn’t uncommon after a day of climbing to look down at my knuckles, knees, or elbows and see blood trickling out of a gash. Who knows when or how these cuts happened, I had been too focused on climbing to even realize that I was hurt.

If you are consciously aware of pain, climbing just isn’t going to work for you. So we learn how to push it aside. This goes for other sports as well. While I was mountain biking a few years back, I took a nasty fall but picked myself up really quickly because I knew someone was coming down fast right behind me. When we got down the mountain, my friend said, “Uh, George, you’ve got a stick in your leg.” Low and behold, I looked down to see a twig (with leaves on it) lodged into my lower leg, sticking straight out like a dart in a dartboard. I pulled it out and we went on with the day.

I never even realized how weird all of this sounds until just now.

To be honest, if I had pulled my muscle doing anything but something as mindful as yoga, I probably wouldn’t even have realized that it happened. Climbing is mindful, but in much, much different way.

My asana practice has been very, very limited. I didn’t do anything for the first two days after I pulled the muscle, and I’m just now starting to move slowly again.

At first, not being able to move really pissed me off. When someone hurts themselves climbing and it’s more than just a gash or bruise, it pisses them off too. Alex twisted his ankle from a fall while bouldering last summer and the same slew of swearing and anger and irritation followed. Not being able to do something that we usually can do, something that we love and do often, makes us mad. Limits suck.

I was mad at yoga for the first few days too. But then today, when I got on my mat, and did my fifteen minute super gentle barely moving practice, I fell in love with it all over again.

Yoga, climbing, any sport or activity that you absolutely adore will take you in whatever state you’re in. Yoga doesn’t care if you’re hurt–physically, emotionally, spiritually, or all of the above. It doesn’t care if you’re tired, hyped up, feeling like a million bucks or feeling like you just lost a million bucks. It doesn’t matter if last night you had shots of tequila or shots of wheatgrass, yoga will take you. It will work with you, despite how beat down you may be. It accepts you wholeheartedly–your good, your bad, your ugly.

Climbing is the same for me–it doesn’t care if I’m climbing my very hardest or my very shittiest, it’s just glad I showed up.

Yoga doesn’t mind if you sit out a few poses or add in a handstand between every transition, if you take it slow or rev it up, feel full of love or full of hate. It doesn’t judge. Every time we do yoga (or anything you love) it says, “Alright kid, this is what we’re workin’ with today. So glad you made it to the mat, always nice to see you. I’m okay with whatever you’ve got goin’ on.”

Now, it is time for US to be okay with what we’ve got going on.

I was a head full of judgements when I was stressed out a few weeks ago. Georgie, you’re a frickin’ yoga teacher, you shouldn’t feel like this, come on, toughen up. And when I got hurt, the same happened. See George, look, now you’ve gone and stressed yourself out so much that you got hurt and can’t even do your yoga anymore. Congrats. Great example you must be to your students. Judgement, judgement, judgement.

So today, I am trying to be more like yoga. It always accepts what has happened, welcomes us with open arms, doesn’t care if we do an amazing, full of energy practice, or just curl up on our mat and take a nap. Yoga likes hanging out with us no matter what.

It’s just glad to see us.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brent Abel
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 09:35:44

    Hey G. It happens. Over the years I’ve come to accept that my tennis, my workouts, my hiking, whatever it is, at some point I’m going to get nicked and there’s really no way around it.

    As a teacher, it’s easy to feel as if you have to always be in perfect condition, mentally & physically, but that just ain’t realistic.

    Like I said to you last week, your students love it when you announce at the start of a class that you’re dinged up, BUT that you’re here for them and will do what you can today to help THEM.

    The biggest thing I have to overcome is that feeling of ‘woe is me’ when I get injured as if it’s now something permanent.

    Injuries, nicks, and dings are temporary and are just about to heal and go away.

    Love ya kiddo…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

