Day 12:

Politics are a funny, funny thing.

To me at least. I honestly find the debates, elections, and political figures themselves absolutely hilarious.

I know I know, politics are actually important and nothing to joke about….

Yeah no. I don’t believe that for a second. I admire people who are really political though, who are witty and informed and travel to see people give speeches and love arguing. I’m just not one of them.

I guess I just have a hard time buying in to all of it. It’s hard to take any of this seriously when we’re dealing with people who will literally do anything for a vote, even lie, and probably things way worse and more disgusting than a lie. It’s also hard to listen to these people go on about healthcare when other parts of the world are going through some real shit. And you know it’s bad when the debate moderator says, okay, let’s move on to another war now….

I think voting is cool though. Despite the incredibly f-ed up electoral college, whatever, it’s still cool. The illusion that I have a say in all of this kind of makes me happy for a minute. I vote according to two things–women’s rights and gay marriage. Because really, isn’t about damn time those things are just givens and not something we have to vote on? Come on now.

It’s funny to watch Facebook get flooded with opinions on this stuff. People get mad. Like, really really mad. I’ve gotten mad before too, when someone posts something about how women shouldn’t be able to do whatever they want with their bodies. But then, the anger subsides and shock sets in–it’s hard for me to understand why someone would think that, let alone feel so moved as to post their feelings on facebook. Don’t they have a mother? A sister? A girlfriend? What? That’s so weird to me.

I read an article the other day about how sad it is when election time comes around–people fight, friends start hating each other, families divide, relationships end, America turns into a battlefield. And yeah, I guess it is kind of sad to get riled up about such petty issues, but this is America god dammit, and that’s what we do best.

Happy election season everyone!

Leave a Reply

