Thoughts on the month long writing challenge

This is gonna be a long, stream of consciousness, selfish kind of post so if you don’t feel like reading that kind of stuff right now, I understand.

On the writing challenge–I missed a few days here and there, but only about 3 overall, so I’m proud. Writing every day was really good, somedays hard, but made my days feel full and my head, empty. It got me pretty organized and revealed what was working in my life and what was not working. For that, I am forever grateful for writing and for the internet, for allowing me to share experience with you all. Thank you for reading, it means a lot.

I would like to keep writing every day, but perhaps not in a public way, because I felt myself wanting to say things but then holding back. I wanted to write about people and situations with people that read this blog, and that would only make for a big awkward mess and some things I prefer to keep to myself. Emotions and thoughts are very powerful things, and while it is usually beneficial to release these things, I find that holding something that contains so much power sacred and close to your bones can in turn give you personal power. Choosing what you share and what you keep is the tricky part.

Today, I am going back to California on a late evening flight. My time in Georgia has been fun, much needed, telling, answer-giving, filled with laughter, some tears, and climbing; it’s been memory-jerking, inspiring, happy, tiring, and packed with love–all sides of love.

My good friend Joe, who lives four hours away from real rocks or a climbing gym, placed second overall in the advanced category of the Triple Crown bouldering series–a very difficult thing to do, even with easy access to climbing. That has me thinking a lot about how important it is to have drive, gumption, talent, and love for climbing in order to be strong. It’s not about where you live or who you climb with or how many sponsors you have. It’s all about you, it is such an intimately personal sport, they all are, and without a deep knowledge of yourself and a whole lot of determination you aren’t going to be having any fun or progressing.

But more than anything, I’m just really proud of Joe and it makes me feel lucky to know him. I’m also proud of Alex, because he is just as strong as Joe, but early in the day gave up any chances of placing in the competition solely because he wanted to help Joe win the damn thing. He helped Joe decide what routes to do, spotted him, even left the boulder field to make Joe lunch and brought it back to him. And I know Alex is gonna be mad at me for making him look like Joe’s bitch or whatever, but that just isn’t the case at all. The way I see it, and how everyone else should, was a guy being completely selfless and doing a solid for his best friend. It was amazing to see.

I, on the other hand, in the past haven’t been so fond of climbing competitions, because “winning” and “climbing” just don’t make sense in the same sentence to me. I don’t think badly of people who compete to win, I don’t think it’s degrading to the sport or anything like that, but personally, comps have turned into something different for me. The moment that I stopped caring about how many points a route was worth and started caring about how much fun I had on a route, I (to no surprise) started having fun at comps. I am in a weird kind of climbing shape right now, weird for me at least, because I have zero power but a lot of endurance. I am never like that, it’s usually the other way around. So this past weekend, I climbed close to 30 routes, looking only for what looked awesome and I didn’t give a damn about grades, points, scores. I am really tired and don’t have any skin on my finger tips, but I had fun, threw big, got a lot of sends. Yay.

I am happy to be heading back home. Happy and ready to climb a lot this winter, for Thanksgiving and family time, for friends old and new. Ready to start doing a lot more yoga and running. I like these 30-day challenges, and I think my next challenge will be a physical one. I will let you all know what I decide.

Love to you all, have a great week, and thank you so much for reading.

Leave a Reply

