day 18: update

This evening, after work, I will pick up two of my friends, we will stuff as much climbing gear and food into my car as possible, we will purchase burritos, and then we will drive East, straight into the Sierras. I will roll down my window, possibly extend a middle finger into the air dependent upon the amount of traffic that this Bart strike creates, and I will scream:

SEE YA SUCK TOWN

Tonight, I’m going to Bishop.

Okay so the Bay Area doesn’t quite deserve its title of Suck Town, but there is something about this place that drains the blood from my face. I’ve been hanging around here for two months now, but it feels like a year. And I realize it’s not the Bay Area’s fault, it’s my fault for not being able to deal. The only thing keeping me from staying down in Bishop for longer than just a weekend are the people here that I have come to adore. And money. Mostly money. Unfortunately that stuff is pretty necessary if you’re addicted to coffee and want to take month or so long trips to Europe.

Truth be told, I’ve been enjoying the Bay way more than I usually do. I’ve fallen into a pretty mellow work schedule and I’ve even been climbing a bit. I feel really weak, in terms of climbing, and I don’t know why or what changed, but I’m just trying to respect the slump and see what it has to teach me.

Okay you caught me. Obviously the reason why I can tolerate this place isn’t because of something as frivolous as a work schedule, maybe it’s something that carries a little more weight. Maybe it’s a person. Maybe it’s a boy. Who knows.

Today I wanted to take a break from my crazy ass poetry kick and update you all with life stuff, but the truth is that I don’t have much to report. I’m getting back into the swing of things. Time is still going too fast. I’m still scared to drive down Ashby and I am in a constant state of wanting to leave. But tonight, I will head out for the first Bishop trip of the season so I’m obviously smiling.

It’s all good, a little stagnant in some parts, but mostly it’s good and I couldn’t be more thankful.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

