the honest kind

love never fails,

love never fails,

got my voice back and i’m telling you that

love never fails

do you know about it? i want it:

the unconditional kind, that time you told him

that his darkness was beautiful

and meant it

the drunk kind,

when you love to dance,

the mad kind, with every nerve

popping and electric

and the thirsty kind,

gulp me down, faster now, like water

the fast kind,

that burns like a wildfire and spins with the winds,

the powerful kind,

it tugs on the tides

it speaks in tongues

it glows your tired eyes

the wild kind, all tangled in knots and

my breath braided into yours,

that quiet kind,

the sound of a redwood,

and the funny kind because you know

i love to laugh,

the adventurous kind,

into your mind,           tell me

what it’s like in there,

the boring kind,

just drink tea with me,

and how about the forgiving kind? the

benefit of the doubt. the

it’s okay, my darling. the

you did your best.

and above all,

just give me the honest kind

i crave the magic in that alone, the magic of:

tell the truth, tell the truth, tell the truth

to always tell the truth

so help me,

please, just tell the truth,

and here’s my kind of real:

love never fails.

love never fails,

been carrying my heart in my hands

with her arteries like sails

heavy and tender from a love that grew stale

but i’ll never stop telling you that

love never fails,

love never fails,

been broken a thousand times but

i’ve always known that

love

never

fails.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kerry pittenger
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 10:52:51

    This is beautiful. Absolutely. My mind is saying, “Yeah! What she said,…”

    Can I share this on FB,….?

    kerry pittenger kp photography, llc http://www.kerrypittenger.com 888-400-3810

    >

    Reply

  2. Paul
    Aug 13, 2015 @ 22:11:57

    I almost hate to admit it with so many friends who are dedicated to writing, but you just kill it! An entire other level of writing. It has such straightforward honesty. Great poem 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

